Ichhapur Schule

Ichhapur ist ein kleines Dorf im indischen Bundesstaat Odisha. Seine Einwohner sind hauptsächlich Bauern. Die  Schule ist eine Privatschule nach dem Modell der Integralen Schulen von Sri Aurobindo. Das bedeutet, die Erziehung von Körper, Geist und Seele stehen gleichberechtigt nebeneinander. Mädchen und Jungen werden gleich behandelt, Kasten, Religion und sozialer Hintergrund spielen keine Rolle. Die Schule ist staatlich anerkannt.

Zur Zeit besuchen ca. 200 Kinder die Schule, vom Kindergarten, bis zur zehnten Klasse. 50 Kinder leben im Internat, für das eine Warteliste besteht. Für Unterricht und Unterkunft zahlen die Eltern einen geringen Monatsbeitrag, der die Kosten der Lehrer deckt. Für sehr arme Familien gibt es Freiplätze.

Die erste Schule in Ichhapur wurde 1989 von Prasant Parija, zusammen mit seinem Bruder Sarat und einigen Freunden erbaut. Das Land hatte Prasant von seinem Großvater geerbt. Sie gründeten den Verein Sri Aurobindo Seba Sanstha. Die Schule nannten sie Sri Aurobindo Centre of Integral Education in Ichhapur. Die Schule sah aus wie alle Gebäude der Gegend: eine Hütte aus Lehm mit einem Dach aus Palmenblättern, dass die Hitze draußen hielt. Einige arbeitslose Lehrer fanden eine Anstellung. Schulmaterial war knapp.

1999 wütete ein Jahrhundertzyklon an der Ostküste von Odisha. Ichhapur und die Schule wurden dem Erdboden gleich gemacht. Das war der Beginn einer neuen Zukunft für Ichhapur.

Seit 2011 bildet die Schule Kinder bis einschließlich der 10. Klasse aus. Danach erfolgt eine Prüfung vor einer staatlichen Kommission, bei der die Ichhapur-Schule im Vergleich mit anderen ländlichen Schulen von Odisha sehr gut abschneidet. Die Kinder sind in der Lage auf einem College weiter zu studieren.

after the cyclone 2002Die Schule nach dem Wiederaufbaumit gespendetem Traktor 2006 The School with second level
2006: Im Klassenzimmer Das Lehrerkollegium 2009 Meditation hall
since 2007 Construction of a hostel 2009In the garden 2011 Sports ground, land was offered by the Ichhapur community

Comments are closed.

Ichhapur School

Ichhapur is a small village in the Indian state of Odisha,  most of its inhabitants are farmers. The school itself is private and based on the principles of Sri Aurobindo’s Integral Education, giving equal importance to the education of body, mind, life and spirit. Boys and girls are treated equally without any discrimination in regard to caste, religion or social background. The school is recognised by the government.

At present about 200 children attend the school from kindergarten to grade 10. Fifty children room and board at the school with more on the waiting list wanting to join. Parents pay a small monthly fee for tuition and boarding which covers the expenses for teachers??? salaries. Free education is offered to children of very poor families.

The first school in Ichhapur was built in 1989 by Prasant Parija, his brother Sarat and several friends. Prasant had inherited the land from his grandfather. They founded the charitable trust Sri Aurobindo Seba Sanstha and named the school Sri Aurobindo Centre of Integral Education in Ichhapur.  The school was much like all other buildings in the area: a mud hut with a roof made of coconut-leaves to keep the heat out. A number of unemployed teachers were hired, while education materials remained scarce.

In 1999 a super-cyclone hit the east coast of Odisha, completely destroying Ichhapur and the school. However, this disaster marked the beginning of a new future for Ichhapur.

Since 2011 the school has offered education through grade 10. After completion, the Ichhapur children take the official state educational assessment and they routinely achieve higher rankings than other rural schools in Odisha. The children then have the possibility to continue their education at a college.

 

after the cyclone 2002Die Schule nach dem Wiederaufbaumit gespendetem Traktor 2006 The School with second level
Classroom in the school The teachers 2009 Meditation hall
since 2007 Construction of a hostel 2009In the garden 2011 Sports ground, land was offered by the Ichhapur community


Comments are closed.